BREAKING NEWS: Just In New Orleans Saints Confirm The Departure Of Another Top Experienced Star Player

On the ballot for the 2025 College Football Hall of Fame, thirteen former New Orleans Saints were included, including Wayne Martin, a member of the Saints Hall of Fame.

Martin played four years as a defensive end for the University of Arkansas, contributing significantly to their 1988 Southwest Conference championship. With 25.5 sacks, he has the most in school history. With 37 tackles for loss, Martin is also fourth all-time.

He had by far his best college season in 1988. In addition to winning the SWC, he was named first team all-pro, unanimous all-American, and defensive player of the year. Because of all that anticipation, he was chosen with the 19th overall pick by the New Orleans Saints in the 1989 draft.

Martin made 597 total tackles and 12 forced fumbles during his 171 games with the Saints. He was selected to the Pro Bowl in 1994 and the second team All-Pro in 1992.

There were 77 players overall listed on the 2025 ballot. Once the eligible voters cast their ballots, only 12 will be inducted into the Hall of Fame. Other notable Saints players qualified are Pittsburgh native Craig “Ironhead” Heyward, former Bloomsburg guard Jahri Evans, and running back Mark Ingram of Alabama.



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.